Women's Soccer

Top of the List

STANFORD, Calif. – Senior Jordan DiBiasi and sophomore Catarina Macario are finalists for the Missouri Athletic Club's Hermann Trophy, the highest individual honor in college soccer.

It is the second time in program history the Cardinal has had multiple MAC Hermann Trophy finalists in the same year – in 2011, Lindsay Taylor joined eventual winner Teresa Noyola as two of the three finalists.

The duo helped Stanford capture its fourth straight Pac-12 championship this season, which ended a week ago in the College Cup semifinal. Both were named first-team All-America, first-team All-Region, first-team All-Pac-12 and first-team CoSIDA Academic All-District 8. They join Caitlin Farrell of Georgetown as this year's finalists. The Hermann Trophy, which has been awarded annually since 1967, will be awarded on Jan. 4 at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis.

DiBiasi, the 2018 Pac-12 Midfielder of the Year, served as team captain during the 2018 season, setting career highs in goals (10) and points (30) while leading the Cardinal in assists (10). During her four-year career, DiBiasi missed just one game while starting 91 of 92 games she was available for.

Jordan has been an integral part of our success during her career at Stanford and I am thrilled she is being recognized as a Hermann Trophy finalist," said the Knowles Family Director of Women's Soccer Paul Ratcliffe. "Her leadership and outstanding work ethic have helped elevate our program to be one of the best in the country. Jordan was the engine to our team, an amazing midfielder and was always there with a game-winning goal when we needed it."

DiBiasi has scored 31 career goals, including 15 game winners, with 23 assists in her career, increasing her goal total in each of her four seasons. Her five postseason goals ties for sixth in program history with four of those goals being game winners – DiBiasi scored both goals in Stanford's 2-0 win over South Carolina in the 2017 College Cup semifinal en route to All-Tournament team honors. During DiBiasi's four-year career, Stanford finished with an 82-6-5 record including a 41-1-2 clip in Pac-12 play and a 50-2-4 record at Laird Q. Cagan Stadium.

Macario, the ESPNW Player of the Year in each of her two seasons at Stanford, is a finalist for the Hermann Trophy for the first time after earning semifinalist recognition in 2017 and 2018. The two-time Pac-12 Forward of the Year led the Pac-12 in points (36) and goals (14), including several strikes of the highest quality during Stanford's undefeated regular season.

"Catarina is one of the most technically gifted student-athletes that I have ever coached during my time at Stanford," said Ratcliffe. "The impact she has made during the past two years is truly amazing – Catarina has an incredible ability to not only score but create goals. She is extremely deserving of being a finalist for this award."

As a freshman in 2017, Macario led the nation in points (50) and assists (16). Through two seasons, she ranks just outside the top-10 in program history in goals and assists, while her nine postseason assists are a program record, passing the previous mark shared by Christen Press and Chioma Ubogagu (7). During Macario's two seasons on The Farm, Stanford is 45-2-2 with a 21-0-1 clip in Pac-12 play and 27-0-1 record in home games.

Alana Cook joined DiBiasi and Macario as Hermann Trophy semifinalists on Nov. 27 while Tegan McGrady, Jaye Boissiere and Tierna Davidson joined Cook and Macario as members of the Hermann Trophy preseason watch list. Last season, Andi Sullivan became Stanford's fourth Hermann Trophy winner, joining Noyola (2011), Christen Press (2010) and Kelley O'Hara (2009).