Cross Country

Academic All-Americans

STANFORD, Calif. – Three Stanford runners were named Academic All-Americans for track and field and cross country by the College Sports Information Directors of America on Thursday.

Fiona O'Keeffe, a senior Earth systems major, was named to the women's first team. Ella Donaghu, a senior majoring in human biology, was named to the third team.

Alex Ostberg, a fifth-year senior human biology major, was named to the men's second team.

O'Keeffe and Donaghu finished 1-2 at the Pac-12 cross country championships, leading the Cardinal to its first conference title in nine years. They both earned All-America honors in cross country while helping Stanford to a third-place NCAA finish. Donaghu earned two more All-America honors, in indoor track, for qualifying for the NCAA Championships in the 3,000 meters and distance medley relay before the COVID-19 pandemic forced cancellation of the season.

Ostberg earned his third cross country All-America honor, helping the Cardinal to sixth at the NCAA Championships. Ostberg also was an indoor track All-American, in the 3,000.

O'Keeffe was a six-time All-American and a two-time Academic All-American, having earned second-team honors for 2018-19.

Ostberg is a five-time All-American and Donaghu, the 2019 NCAA West Region cross country champ, has collected four All-America honors with one more season of eligibility remaining at Stanford. This is the first Academic All-America honor for each.

The honors give Stanford cross country and track and field 37 Academic All-America honors, earned by 31 individuals.
 * * *
CoSIDA Academic All-America team
Division I Track and Field/Cross Country

First team

Fiona O'Keeffe, Sr., Davis, Calif., 3.97, Earth systems.
Third team
Ella Donaghu, Sr., Portland, Ore., 3.65, human biology.

Second team

Alex Ostberg, 5th Sr., Darien, Conn., 3.67, human biology.
 * * *
Here is a list of Stanford cross country and track and field Academic All-Americans:


Year, Name, Category, Team
1999: Adam Connolly, At Large, first team
2002: Donald Sage, XC/TF, third team
2004: Adam Tenforde, XC/TF, first team
2007: Russell Brown, XC/TF, third team
2009: Garrett Heath, XC/TF, first team
2011: Chris Derrick, XC/TF, first team
2011: Elliott Heath, XC/TF, first team
2011: Miles Unterreiner, XC/TF, first team
2012: Chris Derrick, XC/TF, first team
2012: Elliott Heath, XC/TF, first team
2012: Miles Unterreiner, XC/TF, first team
2015: Marco Bertolotti, XC/TF, first team
2015: Luke Lefebure, XC/TF, first team
2016: Justin Brinkley, XC/TF, second team
2016: Sean McGorty, XC/TF, second team
2016: Harrison Williams, XC/TF, third team
2018: Tai Dinger, XC/TF, second team
2019: Steven Fahy, XC/TF, second team
2019: Harrison Williams, XC/TF, second team
2020: Alex Ostberg, XC/TF, second team  

Year, Name, Category, Team
1983: Kim Schnurpfeil, At Large, second team
1984: PattiSue Plumer, At Large, second team
1999: Sarna Renfro, At Large, second team
2002: Caroline Annis, XC/TF, third team
2007: Arianna Lambie, XC/TF, first team
2011: Kate Niehaus, XC/TF, first team
2012: Kathy Kroeger, XC/TF, first team
2012: Arantxa King, XC/TF, second team
2013: Kathy Kroeger, XC/TF, second team
2015: Jessica Tonn, XC/TF, second team
2016: Elise Cranny, XC/TF, third team
2016: Kristyn Williams, XC/TF, third team
2017: Elise Cranny, XC/TF, second team
2018: Elise Cranny, XC/TF, first team
2019: Mackenzie Little, XC/TF, second team
2019: Fiona O'Keeffe, XC/TF, second team
2020: Fiona O'Keeffe, XC/TF, first team
2020: Ella Donaghu, XC/TF, third team