Supriya Limaye/
Men's Tennis

Super Stanford

NORMAN, Okla. – Samir Banerjee clinched the final point in a third set tiebreaker and No. 19 Stanford men's tennis outlasted No. 11 Oklahoma, 4-2, at the Gregg Wadley Indoor Tennis Pavilion.

Stanford improves to 19-6 on the season and advances to the Super Regionals for the third straight season and the sixth time in the last eight tournaments. Additionally, this marks the third consecutive season that Stanford has won its regional on the road, previously beating Harvard in 2022 and Columbia in 2023.

The Cardinal won the doubles point to take the lead, clinching in a tiebreaker on court two. Oklahoma won first on court three, but Max Basing and Nico Godsick responded on court one, 7-5, taking out a top-60 ranked duo. Nishesh Basavareddy and Banerjee put the exclamation point on a strong start, taking a 7-5 tiebreaker to give the Cardinal the edge.

Stanford's lead tripled to 3-0 after straight set wins on courts five and six by Nico Godsick and Neel Rajesh. Godsick started with a 6-2, 6-4 victory, while Rajesh finished moments later, 6-4, 6-1, to make it 3-0. Oklahoma rallied to pull two points back on courts three and four, and the top two positions went to three sets.

Basavareddy was in a position to serve for the win up 5-3 in the third, but Banerjee outlasted his opponent in a tiebreaker, 7-2, to clinch the match and the regional for the Cardinal.

Stanford will travel to No. 6 Wake Forest for the NCAA Super Regionals. Full match information will be announced in the coming days.

No. 19 Stanford 4, No. 11 Oklahoma 2

1) No. 62 Basing/Godsick (STAN) d. No. 58 Anselmo/Martinez (OKLA), 7-5
2) No. 85 Banerjee/Basavareddy (STAN) d. Alvarez/Montsi (OKLA), 7-6 (5)
3) Harazaki/Trondson (OKLA) d. Aryan Chaudhary/Harsh Hemang Parikh (STAN), 6-4
Order of Finish:3, 1, 2

1) No. 16 Nishesh Basavareddy (STAN) led No. 10 Alex Martinez (OKLA), 6-7 (4), 7-6 (4), 5-3 uf
2) No. 55 Samir Banerjee (STAN) d. No. 69 Khololwam Montsi (OKLA), 6-4, 6-7 (3), 7-6 (2)
3) Jordan Hasson (OKLA) d Max Basing (STAN), 7-6 (5), 6-3
4) Luis Alvarez (OKLA) d. Kyle Kang (STAN), 6-3, 3-6, 6-3
5) Neel Rajesh (STAN) d. Justin Schlageter (OKLA), 6-4, 6-1
6) Nico Godsick (STAN) d. Mark Mandlik (OKLA), 6-2, 6-4
Order of Finish: 6, 5, 3, 4, 2