Cardinal Awarded

STANFORD, Calif. - Vanessa Lahrkamp was named the Quantum Women's College Sailor of the Year and Stanford earned nine All-America honors, the ICSA announced on Friday.

The national women's sailor of the year award is the second in program history as Lahrkamp joins her sister who earned the accolade in 2020. 

Vanessa Lahrkamp was instrumental in leading Stanford to the ICSA Women's Team and Fleet Race titles in 2024, also earning the title of PCCSC Women's Skipper of the Year.

Vanessa Lahrkamp also earned two All-America awards, claiming a nod as an ICSA Women's Skipper All-American and an ICSA Open Skipper Honorable Mention selection. It's the second straight year Lahrkamp was honored in both the Women's and Open divisions.

Michelle Lahrkamp also earned two All-America awards for the second straight season, being named both an ICSA Women's Skipper and Open Skipper All-American.

Hannah Freeman earned her second consecutive ICSA Women's Skipper All-America award while Thomas Sitzmann joined the Lahrkamp sisters with an ICSA Open Skipper All-America nod.

Stanford also had three crews named All-Americans. Alice Schmid, Ellie Harned, and Gwendolyn Donahue were each named All-America Crews after their dominant performances led Stanford to two national titles.

Vanessa Lahrkamp - Quantum Women's Sailor of the Year, ICSA All-American Women's Skipper, ICSA All-American Open Skipper Honorable Mention

Michelle Lahrkamp - ICSA All-American Women's Skipper, ICSA All-American Open Skipper

Hannah Freeman - ICSA All-American Women's Skipper, Finalist for Quantum Women's Sailor of the Year

Thomas Sitzmann - ICSA All-American Open Skipper 

Alice Schmid - ICSA All-American Crew

Gwendolyn Donahue - ICSA All-American Crew, Finalist for ICSA Crew of the Year

Ellie Harned - ICSA All-American Crew