Men's Swimming & Diving

Leaders in the Classroom

All-America Selections Opens in a new window Full All-Academic Teams Opens in a new window NCAA Championship Recap Opens in a new window

STANFORD, Calif. – Eighteen Stanford swimmers and divers were selected to the Pac-12 Conference All-Academic team, as announced Tuesday by Commissioner Larry Scott.

"I'm very proud of this team to be both conference champions in the pool and the academic leaders in the classroom," said Goldman Family Director of Men's Swimming Ted Knapp. "There is no compromise for excellence in both – our student-athletes are the epitome of what Stanford strives for."

Junior Tarek Abdleghany (computer science), senior Justin Buck (economics), senior Bradley Christensen (product design), senior Tom Kremer (computer science), junior Ted Miclau (human biology) and senior Jimmy Yoder (human biology) each earned first-team honors.

Second-team selections included sophomore Matt Anderson (undeclared), junior Patrick Conaton (international relations), senior Spencer DeShon (product design), sophomore Abrahm DeVine (undeclared), sophomore Ryan Dudzinski (undeclared), junior Andrew Liang (economics), junior Sam Perry (economics), sophomore Jack Walsh (undeclared), senior Maxwell Williamson (economics) and sophomore Brad Zdroik (undeclared).

Sophomore Cole Cogswell (undeclared) and junior Liam Egan (management science & engineering) received honorable mentions.

Stanford's 18 selections were the most of any program, while its six first-team selections were tied for the most with Utah. To be eligible for selection to the academic team, a student-athlete must have a minimum 3.0 overall grade-point average and participate in at least half of their teams scheduled regular season events. 

The Cardinal finished the regular season with a 4-1 record in dual meets before winning the Pac-12 Conference Swimming and Diving Championships in Federal Way, Washington. Stanford capped its 2016-17 season with a fifth-place finish at the NCAA Swimming and Diving Championships in Indianapolis.

Pac-12 All-Academic First Team
Name – Class – GPA – Major
Tarek Abdelghany – Junior – 3.66 – Computer Science
Justin Buck – Senior – 3.53 – Economics
Bradley Christensen – Senior – 3.62 – Product Design
Tom Kremer – Senior – 3.69 – Computer Science
Ted Miclau – Junior – 3.64 – Human Biology
Jimmy Yoder – Senior – 3.56 – Human Biology

Pac-12 All-Academic Second Team
Name – Class – GPA – Major
Matt Anderson – Sophomore – 3.50 – Undeclared
Patrick Conaton – Junior – 3.29 – International Relations
Spencer DeShon – Senior – 3.24 – Product Design
Abrahm DeVine – Sophomore – 3.52 – Undeclared
Ryan Dudzinski – Sophomore – 3.37 – Science, Technology & Society
Andrew Liang – Junior – 3.39 – Economics
Sam Perry – Junior – 3.30 – Economics
Jack Walsh – Sophomore – 3.50 – Undeclared
Maxwell Williamson – Senior – 3.33 – Economics
Brad Zdroik – Sophomore – 3.32 – Economics

Pac-12 All-Academic Honorable Mention
Name – Class – Major
Cole Cogswell – Sophomore – Undeclared
Liam Egan – Junior – Economics & Public Policy (double major)