Men's Rowing

Card Downs Beavers

DEXTER LAKE, Ore. – Stanford won two of its three races in a dual with Oregon State Saturday, with its varsity eight boat claiming the Mac Babbit Trophy for the 14th straight year.
"In tribute of our traditional rivalry, today we raced fiercely and with determination to secure the Mac Babbitt Trophy once again for Stanford," said head coach Craig Amerkhanian.
The Cardinal's eighth-ranked varsity eight highlighted the morning's racing with an open-water victory over No. 17 Oregon State. Stanford raced down the Dexter Lake course to a time of 5:58.55, besting the Beavers' time of 6:06.84.
Stanford also claimed victory in the second varsity eight. The Cardinal's boat finished with a time of 6:11.25 to Oregon State's 6:15.52.

The Beavers took their lone victory in the third varsity eight, where their time of 6:25.56 outpaced Stanford's 6:28.17.
"Today was good preparation for next week's Pac-12 Championships for all three boats, and we're looking forward to the challenge," added Amerkhanian.
Stanford heads to Gold River, California next Sunday, May 13, to compete in the Pac-12 Championships at Lake Natoma.

Varsity Eight

CoxswainRyan Buchanan
8Martin Amethier
7Brennan Wertz
6Drew Taylor
5Allen Reitz
4Nikita Lilichenko
3Gordon Holterman
2Bart Scherpbier
BowWill Nuelle

Second Varsity Eight

CoxswainSarah Taylor
8Daniel Schmid
7John Coffey
6Julius Stener
5David Dunn
4Nick Kingsley
3Ryan Cardiff
2Guy Wuollet
BowJaisel Sandhu


Third Varsity Eight

CoxswainIsabelle Morris
8Joseph Matan
7George Horrell
6Allen Hosler
5John Spencer
4Diego Baugh
3Max Evans
2Will Spencer
BowJohn Cirenza