Aaron Shepley
Women's Rowing

Podium Finish at NCAA's

INDIANAPOLIS – Stanford recorded a podium finish for the fourth time in six years, placing fourth in the NCAA Women's Rowing Championships as a team on Sunday.
The Cardinal completed competition at the championship regatta, held at the Indianapolis Rowing Center at Eagle Creek Park, with the varsity eight and second varsity finishing fourth in their respective Grand Finals. The varsity four placed second in its Grand Final, matching its best finish in program history.    
Stanford totaled 116 team points, finishing fourth behind NCAA Champion Washington (132), Texas (125) and Michigan (119). Ohio State (105) and California (103) rounded out the top-six in the final team standings.
Stanford also placed fourth in 2014, 2016 and 2018, finishing sixth in both 2015 and 2017. With the fourth-place finish on Sunday, the Cardinal varsity eight posted a top-five finish for the fifth consecutive season. Stanford's varsity eight placed second in 2017, third in 2016, fourth in 2018 and fifth in 2015.
The NCAA adjusted schedule with weather in the area, as the varsity eight Grand Final opening competition on Sunday. It was a wildly competitive race for the title, coming down to Stanford, Washington, Michigan and Texas at the finish. The Huskies captured the title with a time of 6:07.284. Stanford finished fourth with a time 609.344, behind Texas (6:07.971) and Michigan (6:08.659). California (6:10.515) and Ohio State (6:11.042) placed fifth and sixth, respectively.
Stanford's second varsity eight finished fourth with a time of 6:16.937 in Sunday's Grand Final. Washington (6:11.262) and Texas (6:12.328) took the top two spots, with Michigan finishing third (6:15.063).
The Cardinal varsity four placed second with a time of 6:55.642, matching its highest NCAA finish in program history. Stanford also placed second in 2014. Washington captured the title with a time of 6:52.451, while Texas (6:56.987), Michigan (6:57.915), Ohio State (6:59.256) and California (7:00.072) rounded out the field in the Grand Final.
 Varsity Eight
Caroline Ricksen (Coxswain), Stephanie Grauer (8), Maria Kent (7), Kaitlyn Kynast (6), Elizabeth Sharis (5), Kelsey McGinley (4), Emily Delleman (3), Meg Saunders (2), Chase Shepley (Bow)

Second Varsity Eight
Tassica Lim (Coxswain), Rena White (8), Anja Zehfuss (7), Kate Littlejohn (6), Grace Mcginley (5), Azja Czajkowski (4), Sophie Dixon (3), Margaret Seaton (2) Esther Briz Zamorano (Bow)

Varsity Four
Nicole Pofcher (Coxswain), India Robinson (4), Miranda Nykolyn (3), Sophia Lynn (2), Sarah Commesso (Bow)