Women's Basketball

Elite Shooter, Elite Scholar

STANFORD, Calif. - Hannah Jump has been named the Pac-12 Women's Basketball Scholar-Athlete of the Year for the 2022-23 season, the conference announced Monday.

The award is presented in each of the 24 sports sponsored by the Pac-12 and was established to honor collegiate student-athletes that are standouts both academically and in their sports discipline.

A psychology major with a 3.75 GPA, Jump has started all 31 games for the Cardinal this season. The Pac-12 leader, she is tied for fourth nationally with 92 3-pointers made and also tops the Conference and is 11th in the country in 3-pointers per game (2.97). She has increased her averages in scoring, assists and minutes in each of her four years on The Farm and surpassed the 1,000 career point milestone in the regular-season finale at Utah.

She currently is fourth in program history and ninth in Pac-12 history with 275 career 3-pointers made. A 44.0-percent shooter from deep this season, which is 11th in the country, her .420 career 3-point percentage would be third all-time at Stanford. The Cardinal is 46-2 the past four years when Jump scores in double figures.

A two-time Pac-12 Academic Honor Roll recipient, Jump was named to the College Sports Communicators Academic All-District team for the first time last week and advances to the All-America ballot, where first-, second- and third-team Academic All-America honorees will be announced in mid-March.

Jump is the seventh from Stanford to win the award in women's basketball, following in the footsteps of Jayne Appel (2010), Kayla Pedersen (2011), Chiney Ogwumike (2014), Brittany McPhee (2018), Alanna Smith (2019) and Lexie Hull (2022).

In order to be eligible for the Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, student-athletes must be a senior (in athletics eligibility), on track to receive a degree, have a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher, participate in at least 50 percent of the scheduled contests in the sport and have a minimum one year in residence at the institution. Each Pac-12 institution may nominate one individual per sport, and the winners are selected by a committee of Pac-12 staff members at the conclusion of each sport's regular season. The athletics accomplishments of the nominees are a consideration in voting for the award.

ALSO NOMINATED: Noelle Mannen, OSU; Leilani McIntosh, CAL; Alyson Miura, USC; Ula Motuga, WSU; Darcy Rees, WASH; Cate Reese, ARIZ