Men's Swimming & Diving

Stanford Finishes Second

Full Results Opens in a new window

FEDERAL WAY, Wash. – Stanford wrapped up the Pac-12 conference championships in second place on Saturday night at the King County Aquatic Center.

Stanford finished with 716 points, which includes points from last week's Pac-12 diving championships. Cal (948) won the championship with the Cardinal finishing ahead of Arizona (570), Arizona State (495.5), USC (366.5) and Utah (335). It was the 38th season in a row Stanford has finished in the top two at the conference championships.

James Murphy (14:44.07) got the evening started with a second-place finish in the 1,650-yard freestyle. True Sweetser (14:49.41) finished fourth with Matthew Hirschberger (14:54.65) in sixth place.

After earning the top seed in preliminaries, Patrick Conaton (1:40.92) led the Cardinal with fourth place in the 200-yard backstroke, followed by Glen Cowand (1:41.97) in fifth and Ben Ho (1:42.81) in seventh – Johannes Calloni (1:41.82) scored more points by winning the B-final.

Abrahm DeVine (43.02) was Stanford's fastest swimmer in the 100-yard freestyle, finishing 10th with a runner-up finish in the B-final ahead of Cole Cogswell (43.23), who placed fourth in the heat.

Daniel Roy (1:53.75) led the Cardinal with fourth place in the 200-yard breaststroke ahead of Brennan Pastorek (1:54.54) in sixth and Hank Poppe (1:54.82) in eighth. Matt Anderson (1:56.93) placed fifth in the B-final ahead of Jonathan Cook (1:58.02), who was sixth.

Alex Liang (1:42.74) was Stanford's only swimmer in the A-final of the 200-yard butterfly, finishing fourth, while Jack Levant (1:44.52) won the B-final.

Stanford's team of Cogswell, DeVine, Levant and Conaton (2:51.67) finished fourth in the 400-yard freestyle relay in the final swim of the championship.

The postseason continues on Monday with the start of the NCAA Zone E Championship in Flagstaff, Arizona, which runs through Wednesday. Divers Conor Casey and Noah Vigran will attempt to qualify for the NCAA Championships on the 1-meter, 3-meter and Platform. The NCAA Championships will be held March 27-30 in Austin, Texas.